Band

 

Actual Line Up:

ALEXIO - Extreme Vox
SOL - Clean Vox
MYUTEL - Guitar
ST.ODIUM - Bass
MIRAN - Drums

SUNWALTER project was launched in Moscow on August 31st, 2008. Originally it was defined as melodic black metal, and the band held true to this genre until as late as 2010. However, at the beginning of 2010 it became obvious, that the band’s concept and music are in no way different from lots of other melodic black metal formations. That’s why, in order to support the band’s growth and development, to expand the audience, and to mark SUNWALTER out from the others, it was decided to add some unique zest. First, some power metal elements were implanted, and in a short while the former melodic black aspect left no trace but vocals.

The year 2010 saw the first recording, “Space Flight” EP, that introduced the renewed individual style. For the first time, the band mixed clean female and extreme male vocals in the song “Rotten”. Time showed that the experiment of using two completely different vocals was rather successful, so the role of SUNWALTER leading vox from now on was divided between clean female and extreme male vocals. The song “Space Flight” also laid the foundation for a new lyric concept, one year later consolidated by the release of “Nibiru” single.

Since then, the band’s lyrics were classified as Sci-Fi (Science Fiction), but only in part, because the rest of SUNWALTER songs describe quite real scientific facts that have nothing to do with fiction. Anyway, SUNWALTER lyrics are first and foremost associated with space and aliens. Some songs can evoke a feeling of something extraterrestrial, sharpening the listener’s perception from the very first notes.

The instrumental aspect of SUNWALTER music is a symbiosis of such genres as metalcore, power and modern metal. That can be clearly seen in the songs from the “SETI Evidence” album. The release of this debut full-length album in 2013 attracted a vast audience both in Russia and abroad. Just as expected, there were fans of quite different heavy metal subgenres, and everyone found their own point of interest in “SETI Evidence” songs.

The year had not ended yet when the band decided to record a new single named “Forbidden Sun”. This release also included a cover version of “E.T.” (originally performed by Katy Perry). The sound was made a bit softer than before, but in general SUNWALTER music remains heavy and to a certain extent extreme. Nowadays this mixture of genres is classified as Sci-Fi Metal.

Группа

 

Актуальный состав:

ALEXIO - Экстремальный Вокал
SOL - Чистый Вокал
MYUTEL - Гитара
ST.ODIUM - Бас
MIRAN - Ударные

Проект SUNWALTER образован 31 августа 2008 года. В самом начале музыка имела чёткое направление – melodic black metal. И в таком стиле группа играла и выступала до 2010 года. В начале 2010 года стало ясно, что концепция группы, как и музыка не имеют никаких отличий от большинства групп, играющих в стиле melodic black metal, и для того чтобы продолжать рост и расширять аудиторию слушателей необходима какая-то изюминка, которая бы выделила музыку SUNWALTER среди прочих. К стилю melodic black metal был добавлен power metal, а чуть позже от melodic black metal’a и вовсе ничего не осталось, кроме вокала.

И в 2010 году был записан первый диск - “Space Flight”, который отличался новым, немного своеобразным стилем. В песне “Rotten” впервые был задействован чистый женский вокал вперемешку с экстремальным мужским. Это был первый эксперимент группы SUNWALTER, где в записи песни были использованы два совершенно разных голоса. Позже практика показала, что эксперимент был удачный и роль лидирующего вокала была поделена между чистым женским и экстремальным мужским. В свою очередь песня “Space Flight” положила начало новой лирической концепции группы, а выпущенный через год сингл “Nibiru” закрепил её.

С этого момента тематика песен в творчестве SUNWALTER была частично определена как Sci-Fi (Научная фантастика). Частично, потому что некоторые песни несут не фантастический смысл, а вполне реальные научные факты. Но в любом случае лирика SUNWALTER в первую очередь связана с космической тематикой. Многие песни уже одним своим вступлением способны привлечь и настроить слушателя на восприятие чего-то внеземного в данной композиции.

Инструментальная составляющая музыки представляет собой симбиоз таких направлений как metalcore, power и modern metal. Последнее ярко выражено в композициях альбома “SETI Evidence”. Выпуск этого дебютного полноформатного альбома в 2013 году привлёк огромную аудиторию слушателей к музыке SUNWALTER как в России, так и за её пределами. Причем, как и предполагалось, в этой аудитории оказались ценители самых разных стилей тяжелой музыки, каждый находил в песнях “SETI Evidence” свой лакомый кусочек.

В этом же году было принято решение записать ещё один сингл “Forbidden Sun”, в который была включена кавер-версия на песню “E.T.” (оригинал Katy Perry). И общее звучание было сделано менее тяжёлым. Но музыка SUNWALTER по-прежнему остаётся тяжёлой и экстремальной, и на сегодняшний день классифицируется как Sci-Fi Metal.